How To Play Chess Dice

“Chess dice” is a game that is played with five six-sided dice and a chessboard. The objective of the game is to score as many points as possible by rolling combinations of dice and moving chess pieces.

There are also dice sets that are available with the symbols of the chess pieces on them. The same why poker dice have the symbols on. But regular dice work just as well.

Here are the basic rules for playing “Chess dice”:

  1. Each player takes turns rolling all five dice. After each roll, the player can choose to keep any number of dice and re-roll the rest up to two more times.
  2. The goal is to roll specific combinations of dice to move chess pieces and capture your opponent’s pieces. The combinations and their corresponding moves are as follows:
  • 1: Pawn moves one space forward
  • 2: Knight moves in an L-shape (two spaces in one direction and one space perpendicular to that direction)
  • 3: Bishop moves diagonally any number of spaces
  • 4: Rook moves horizontally or vertically any number of spaces
  • 5: Queen moves diagonally, horizontally, or vertically any number of spaces
  • 6: King moves one space in any direction
  1. After each roll, the player must use their dice to move a chess piece on the board. If a player rolls a combination that does not correspond to a valid move, they lose their turn.
  2. If a player lands on a square occupied by an opponent’s piece, they capture that piece and remove it from the board. If a player moves their piece to a square where they could be captured on the next turn, they are in “check” and must move their piece to safety on their next turn. If a player is unable to move their piece to safety, they are in “checkmate” and lose the game.
  3. The game continues with each player taking turns rolling the dice and moving their pieces. The first player to reach a predetermined score (usually 10,000 points) or capture all of their opponent’s pieces wins the game.